Free shipping throughout Germany from a purchase value of 80€*

Herzog & de Meuron

ClassiCon - Corker Stool
  • Brown
Corker Stool
in Stock
from € 790,00
Herzog & de Meuron Architekten is a Swiss architecture firm, founded and headquartered in Basel, Switzerland in 1978. The vita of founders and senior partners Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron closely paralleled one another, with both born in Zurich in 1950 and attending the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Zurich, graduating in 1975. Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron have been visiting professors at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design since 1994 and professors at ETH Zürich since 1999.

Herzog & de Meuron Architekten have branch offices in London, Munich, Barcelona, San Francisco and Tokyo with altogether 220 employees. Partner of Herzog & de Meuron are Harry Gugger (*1956) and Christine Binswanger (*1964). Since 2003 Robert Hösl (*1965), Ascan Mergenthaler (*1969) and five more architects are partner of the office.

They are internationally known for their conversion of the giant Bankside Power Station in London to the new home of the Tate Museum of Modern Art (2000).
Furthermore they designed the Allianz Arena in Munich (2002-2005) and the Beijing National Stadium in Peking for the 2008 Olympic Games.
The Philharmonic Hall in Hamburg, Germany (completion ca 2009), the Miami Art Museum in Miami, Florida (completion ca 2010) and the Tate Modern 2, Bankside, London (completion ca 2012)are some of their current projects.

In 2001, Herzog & de Meuron were awarded the Pritzker Prize, the highest of honours in architecture. They received also the Stirling Prize, Laban Dance Centre (2003), the Royal Gold Medal and Praemium Imperiale (both 2007). In 2006, the New York Times Magazine called them "one of the most admired architecture firms in the world."